• Reclusion

Pinterest: Dealing with Top 3 Security Issues

Pinterest is a website and app for iOS and Android that allows you to 'pin' images, videos and other objects on virtual boards, which can then be viewed through your Pinterest account.


Unlike Tumblr, Pinterest is not just about sharing witty quotes or your favourite music video; the site is mainly used as a bookmarking tool for images. It's basically an online pinboard.



Security Concerns with Pinterest

Pinterest is one of the most popular social media sites on the web. It currently has over 200 million users worldwide, with many users uploading new images daily. With these figures in mind, you would assume that Pinterest is a secure way of sharing interests and topics. Unfortunately, this is not the case at all.


#1 Pinterest - That Pin Seems Way to Good to be True.

The newest weight loss diet is always in vogue, but does it have a place on Pinterest? And are those free $100 gift cards really given out to anyone?


Spam pins have plagued Pinterest for years, with attractive pictures of a healthy diet or a wrinkle-free grandma suddenly appearing on many Pinterest feeds. You may be sent to a third party site after just one click. Here, you'll be prompted to repin the suspicious pin, fill out a survey "for your chance to win" or acquire malware software.


What made you discover it? Perhaps you were tagged in it. You really can't do anything about that. But you may make yourself smarter. Don't click on anything unless you know where it'll take you. By examining the lower-left corner of your browser window, you can see where a link leads. If a shortened URL is utilized, avoid clicking on it if at all possible. To check the destination of a long URL, utilize a URL expander tool.


It's a good idea to avoid pinning personal information such as your address, full name, date of birth, or even an accidental picture of your credit card since scammers are so easy to catch.



#2: Collaborator Hijacking: Avoiding It.

On Pinterest, one of the most severe problems is "collaborator hijacking," in which a board you've worked on - that is, pinned to - begins displaying objectionable material. This might be an attempt to expose children to inappropriate material, for example, or whatever else you (or others) find abhorrent. In general, content that does not adhere to Pinterest's content policies.


Because you've previously agreed to contribute to the board, it is connected to your account. Suddenly, those cupcakes you've been giving other moms no longer seem so nutritious, does it? Your reputation takes a hit as soon as you say that.


The easiest way to avoid this is to simply accept invites from folks you know personally or at least trust. If you get trapped in such a situation, just uninvite yourself from the board in question. The sooner you act, the better. Keeping track of all of your boards and making sure they're tidy might help.



#3: Eye Spy a Fake Account.

People who lie about who they are online can be a problem. Pinterest does not have a way to check if someone is telling the truth about their identity. But other social networks, like Twitter, do have a way to check this. However, Facebook works with celebrities to verify their identities.


The scammers don't even have to be celebrities. They could pretend to be your friends or other people you know by using a new account. Then, they might try to scam you with fake invites or pins. So, how can you tell?


You are unlikely to be asked to collaborate on Pinterest by celebrities such as Beyoncé, Russell Crowe, or David Beckham. So don't worry if you receive an invitation from any of them.

Be careful with people who invite you to collaborate on projects. Make sure that they seem like real people and that their pins are appropriate. If the boards look new or if the pins are inappropriate, stay away.


Wrap-Up:

If you see something, say something. If it's spam, don't click on it! Report the offending pin or board to Pinterest so that they can review the content and take action if necessary.